Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – Monolog der Stella

Ernst Krenek
Monolog der Stella

Opus: op. 57
Year of composition: 1928
Subtitle: Konzertarie
Scored for: for soprano and piano
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Text Author: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 10′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Monolog der Stella, op. 57

Work Introduction

Written for the Austrian singer Maria Hussa, this concert aria is a setting of a scene from Goethe’s play Stella, in which she suffers through the torments of what she believes is unrequited love until she becomes certain that “Yes, he will come.”

The music is a kind of pastiche, which Krenek himself describes as “neo-classical,” shrugging off the short piece as “superficial, silly, naïve – yet very effective.”

vocal score - Monolog der Stella

Monolog der Stella
  • for soprano and piano
  • Edition type: vocal score

- Monolog der Stella

Monolog der Stella
  • for soprano and piano

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.