Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – Orpheus und Eurydike

Ernst Krenek
Orpheus und Eurydike

Opus: op. 21
Year of composition: 1923
Subtitle: Opera in 3 acts
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Text Editor: Franz Werfel
Parts: Orpheus, tenor
Eurydike, soprano
Amor, silent part
Psyche, soprano
First, second, third fury, mezzo-sopranos
Ein Betrunkener, bass
Ein Krieger, baritone
Ein Matrose, tenor
Der Narr, baritone
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 3 2 4 3 - 6 4 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
clarinet in Eb
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
violin I
violin II
Scenery: 6
Duration: 105′
Dedication: Oskar Kokoschka gewidmet
Please check your input!

  • Krenek Ernst

  • Orpheus und Eurydike

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Orpheus und Eurydike, op. 21

World Première

Location: Kassel / Germany
Date: 1926

Work Introduction

The myth of Orpheus – presiding over the birth of opera 400 years ago, and repeatedly reworked over the centuries – also provided operatic inspiration for Ernst Krenek. In his Orpheus und Euridyke Op. 21, the tender, tragically misled singer becomes the man of sorrows of the fragmented 20th century. For the work’s 1926 première in Kassel, Krenek described his approach in these terms: ‘Eurydice’s ghost appears for the final showdown with Orpheus. She wants to be free from him forever. Both find rest only when Eurydice gives all her suffering back to Orpheus and kills him. With their deaths, the bad luck perishes.’ The libretto, incidentally, is by Oskar Kokoschka, who wrote it during his imprisonment in Russia.

Libretto – Orpheus and Eurydike

  • Edition type: libretto
  • UE8154
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2184-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06923-9
EUR 10,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

piano reduction - Orpheus und Eurydike

Orpheus und Eurydike
  • Edition type: piano reduction

piano reduction - Orpheus und Eurydike

Orpheus und Eurydike
  • Edition type: piano reduction

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.