Universal Edition - Franz Schmidt – Symphony No. 4

Franz Schmidt

Franz Schmidt
Symphony No. 4

Key: C major
Year of composition: 1933
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Franz Schmidt
Translator: Eugene Hartzell
Instrumentation: 2 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp(2), str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Vierte Symphonie
Remarks: 2nd movement - requiem for his daughter
Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:
Duration: 46′
Dedication: Oswald Kabasta gewidmet
Please check your input!

  • Schmidt Franz

  • Symphony No. 4

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

4. Symphonie, C-Dur

World Première

Location: Wiener Musikverein, Großer Saal Wien / Austria
Date: 1934
Conductor: Oswald Kabasta

Work Introduction

When Franz Schmidt's 4. Symphonie received its world première in 1934, Paul Stefan wrote in the music journal Anbruch: “As well as the novelty and audacity of form, what really makes this work stand out is the confession-box honesty of its sound language that refuses to bow to convention and that can be understood by everyone – making it anything but banal. It is not easy to perform, even if it barely presents any difficulties to the listener. The long breath of this speech, which never seems long-winded or pompous, is a particular pleasure. Overall, the piece has an elegant, natural decorum.”

Pocket score – Symphony No. 4

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: pocket score
  • Edition info: Based on the Critical Edition by the Franz-Schmidt-Society.
  • Series: Philharmonia Pocket Scores
  • PH551
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-0798-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06374-9
EUR 31,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

score - Symphony No. 4

Symphony No. 4
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: score

piano reduction - Symphony No. 4

Symphony No. 4
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: piano reduction

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.