Universal Edition - Franz Schreker – Der ferne Klang

Franz Schreker

Franz Schreker
Der ferne Klang

Year of composition: 1903-1910
Subtitle: Opera in 3 acts
Composer: Franz Schreker
Librettist: Franz Schreker
Original Language: Deutsch
Parts: Der alte Graumann, bass
Seine Frau, mezzo-soprano
Grete, soprano
Fritz, tenor
Der Wirt, bass
Ein Schmierenschauspieler, baritone
Dr. Vigelius, high bass
Ein altes Weib, mezzo-soprano or high alto
Greta, soprano
Mizi, soprano
Milli, mezzo-soprano
Mary soprano
Eine Spanierin, alto
Der Graf, baritone
Der Baron, bass
Der Chevalier, tenor
Rudolf, high bass or baritone
Erster Chorist, tenor
Zweiter Chorist, bass
Die Kellnerin, mezzo-soprano
Ein zweifelhaftes Individuum, tenor
Ein Polizeimann, bass
Ein Diener, speaking part
Gäste / Kellner / Kellnerinnen / Gesinde des Gasthauses / Mädchen / Tänzerinnen aller Nationen / Männer und Frauen, zum Teil maskiert / Theaterpersonal / Theaterbesucher / Wagenausrufer
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp(2), perc(3), glock, hp(2), cel, str - behind the scene: Venetian music (fl, cl, 2 hn, timp, tamb, hp, 3 mand, 2 guit, str.quin), on the stage: Gipsy music (cl, cimb, str.quin), behind the scene: pno
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
bass clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C (+bass tpt)
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba (+cb.tuba)
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
venetian music (cont.aind the scene): flute
clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st mandolin
2nd mandolin
3rd mandolin
1st guitar
2nd guitar
1st violin
2nd violin
gypsy music (on the stage): clarinet in D (+cl(Eb))
1st violin
2nd violin
piano (cont.aind the scene)
Scenery: 5
Duration: 140′
Dedication: Herrn k.k. Hofopernkapellmeister Bruno Walter in Dankbarkeit zugeeignet.
Please check your input!

  • Schreker Franz

  • Der ferne Klang

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Der ferne Klang

World Première

Location: Oper Frankfurt Frankfurt am Main / Germany
Date: 18.08.1912
Conductor: Ludwig Rottenberg

Ingo Metzmacher on Franz Schreker

Find out more in our MusikSalon.

Libretto – Der ferne Klang

  • Edition type: libretto
  • Language: German
  • UE3100
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6158-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06882-9
EUR 11,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Piano reduction – Der ferne Klang

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Edition info: Piano reduction by Alban Berg
  • Language: German
  • UE32926
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2651-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07529-2
EUR 145,00

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

score - Der ferne Klang

Der ferne Klang
  • Edition type: score
  • Language: German

Future Performances

Location: Großes Haus, Lübeck (D), Orchestra: Philharmonisches Orchester der Hansestadt Lübeck, Conductor: Andreas Wolf

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.