Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – 8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

Year of composition: 1995
Scored for: for string sextet
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Philharmonie Köln
Remarks: inklusive der Hölderlin-Fragmente (Motto)
Duration: 23′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

World Première

Location: Philharmonie Köln Köln / Germany
Date: 03.10.1996
Orchestra: Arditti String Quartet
Main Soloists: Thomas Kakuska, Viola Valentin Erben, Violoncello

Work Introduction

In 1994 I repeatedly read the writings of Hölderlin and noted numerous verses which appeared to me to resemble melodies. I began to increasingly stylise these tunes, as I had no intention of singing these texts. When I received the commission for the string sextet, which at the time was very much in accord with my own ideas, I began to develop musical phrases from speech. However, this type of procedure proved itself too narrow, and the result seemed to me too short winded. So I referred back to the tunes developed from Hölderlin's verses, but I used them more freely and to a more stylised degree. An exception is the last movement, which in its monotonous musical competence is completely independent from the music of the text. 

At the end, I asked myself a question that was not easy to answer; whether it is of use, and whether it would make sense, to tell the listener and the performing musician about the texts which had been my starting point, particularly as this should not be considered in any way to be programme music. I decided to do it because, not only do I consider the texts to be a reference to the emotional basis of the individual movements, but because I also wanted to be honest about the source which I did not want to be hidden from the listener. 

Friedrich Cerha

Study score – 8 Movements after Hölderlin

  • for string sextet
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE30296
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6011-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05632-1
EUR 53,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Set of parts – 8 Movements after Hölderlin

  • for string sextet
  • Edition type: set of parts
  • Edition info: Fragment for string sextet
  • UE30297
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6012-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05633-8
EUR 94,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.