Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Berceuse céleste

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
Berceuse céleste

Year of composition: 2006
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 2 0 4 0 - 4 2 4 0 - perc(4), hp, cel, str(14 12 10 8 4)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
3rd clarinet in A
4th clarinet in A
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
violin I (1st desk)
violin I (2nd desk)
violin I (3rd desk)
violin I (4th desk)
violin I (5th desk)
violin I (6th desk)
violin I (7th desk)
violin II (1st desk)
violin II (2nd desk)
violin II (3rd desk)
violin II (4th desk)
violin II (5th desk)
violin II (6th desk)
viola (1st desk)
viola (2nd desk)
viola (3rd desk)
viola (4th desk)
viola (5th desk)
violoncello (1st desk)
violoncello (2nd desk)
violoncello (3rd desk)
violoncello (4th desk)
contrabass (1st desk)
contrabass (2nd desk)
Commissioned by: Auftragswerk des SWR
Duration: 10′
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Berceuse céleste

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Berceuse céleste

World Première

Location: Liederhalle Beethovensaal Stuttgart / Germany
Date: 15.11.2007
Orchestra: SWR RSO Stuttgart
Conductor: Eliahu Inbal

Work Introduction

A kind of music occurred to me which is free of the tensions which create antitheses, free from earthiness; even its accents are free of any dramatics. Berceuse stands for the cradling aloofness into which the music placed me, and céleste for its lightness, weightlessness.

There are pieces which a composer plans, works on and hones for a long time, while there are others – this happens rarely – which abruptly, surprisingly drop into his lap; Berceuse is one of the latter.

Friedrich Cerha

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Berceuse céleste

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.