Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Bruchstück, geträumt

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
Bruchstück, geträumt

Year of composition: 2009
Scored for: for ensemble
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 0 0 0 0 - 2 0 1 0 - perc(3), hp, pno, vln(3), vla(2), vc
Instrumentation details:
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
1st violin
2nd violin
3rd violin
4th violin
1st viola
2nd viola
Commissioned by: Ein Kompositionsauftrag der Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik für das Klangforum Wien
Duration: 18′
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Bruchstück, geträumt

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Bruchstück, geträumt

World Première

Location: Theatersaal Witten / Germany
Date: 23.04.2010
Orchestra: Klangforum Wien
Conductor: Stefan Asbury

Work Introduction

I usually carry musical ideas around with me for a long time before transforming them into “pieces”. Of course, this means there is a risk that they may become stale, lose their spontaneity or that routine may take over. That is why, over the past years, I have appreciated the sounds that have fallen straight into me or perhaps fallen out of me – as in a dream or a dream-like state: a sound that never ends, that favours high tones which I can no longer hear as I could in my younger days. Behind this lies perhaps the old human longing to conquer time, for eternal life, although our music’s dependence on the unrelenting passage of time always means that the pieces themselves become a mere fragment – a “Bruchstück”.

The title itself says a lot. The dynamics of the piece very rarely go beyond pianissimo. The elements of movement are much reduced. It is like in a dream: one tries to move forward; but it is impossible. The music feels its way as if blind. The piece is an epitome – the highest praise of slowness, a strange foreign element in our hectic world with time and again the ticking sound of time passing, at various speeds. Transience – even in dreams.

Friedrich Cerha

study score - Bruchstück, geträumt

Bruchstück, geträumt
  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: study score

study score - Bruchstück, geträumt

Bruchstück, geträumt
  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: study score

full score - Bruchstück, geträumt

Bruchstück, geträumt
  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: full score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.