Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Konzert

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha

Year of composition: 1989/1997
Scored for: for violoncello and orchestra
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Soloists: violoncello
Instrumentation: 1 1 2 1 - 2 2 2 0 - perc(3),, sop.sax, str(8 8 6 4 3)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
soprano saxophone in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
electric organ
violin I(8)
violin II(8)
Commissioned by: Autragswerk der Berliner Festwochen
Duration: 37′
Dedication: für Heinrich Schiff in Freundschaft
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Konzert

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Philharmonie Berlin / Germany
Date: 11.09.1998
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester
Conductor: Michael Gielen
Main Soloists: Heinrich Schiff, vlc

Work Introduction

This concerto in three movements, each containing both lively and reflective music, is an elaboration of a single-movement (1989) fantasy for the same forces, and testifies to Cerha’s sheer technical virtuosity. He has an inexhaustible Austro-German contrapuntal deftness, a Bergian capacity for rapid build-up of tension and sudden thwack, and an individual feeling for luminous texture. The busiest passages never sound congested, and rare colours constantly emerge – wispy figures for electric organ, dialogues for soloist and steel drums. The centre of the slow movement, and of the work, is an outburst of shimmering patterns for woodwind, soprano saxophone, organ, tuned percussion and soloist: an explosion of expressionist colour, Kandinsky in tones. (Sunday Times, 19 August 1999)

score - Konzert

  • for violoncello and orchestra
  • Edition type: score

piano reduction - Konzert

  • for violoncello and orchestra
  • Edition type: piano reduction

study score - Konzert

  • for violoncello and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.