Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Phantasiestück in C.s Manier

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
Phantasiestück in C.s Manier

Year of composition: 1989/1999
Scored for: for violoncello and orchestra
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Soloists: violoncello
Instrumentation: 1 1 2 1 - 2 1 1 0 - perc(2), org, sop.sax, str(8 8 6 4 2) or (1 1 1 1 1)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
soprano saxophone in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
trumpet in C
1st percussion
2nd percussion
violin I(8)
violin II(8)
contrabass(2) or violin I(1)
violin II(1)
Remarks: Etchings by Jacques Callot
Duration: 12′
Dedication: (auf dem Schiff zu singen)

[für Heinrich Schiff]
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Phantasiestück in C.s Manier

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Phantasiestück in C.s Manier

World Première

Location: Konzerthaus, Großer Saal Wien / Austria
Date: 24.11.1989
Orchestra: Radio Sinfonie Orchester Kattowitz
Conductor: Friedrich Cerha
Main Soloists: Heinrich Schiff, vlc


"He has a severe, professorial exterior, but a warm charismatic nature is easily discernible in a work like his Phantasiestück in C's Manier.... It is a teasing piece, in more elaborate textures than the Spinner piece, but still evocatively beautiful ones."

Barry Millington, The Times, 22. April 1993

"The cellist unfolds long lines above undulating orchestral figures, while Cerha's mastery of instrumental texture creates numerous striking sounds. Mixing winds, percussion and organ beneath the solo cello Cerha evokes the fantasy aura of the title. Isserlis went to the poetic heart of the score exploring the ethereal and briefly frantic gestures with tender and dramatic authority."

Donald Rosenberg, The Plain Dealer, 21 October 1994

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.