Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Quellen

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha

Year of composition: 1992
Scored for: for ensemble
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 0 0 1 0 - 1 0 1 0 - perc(3), acc, org, sop.sax, guit, str(1 1 0 0 0)
Instrumentation details:
clarinet in A
soprano saxophone in Bb
horn in F
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
guitar (amplified)
Duration: 13′
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Quellen

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Schömer Haus Klosterneuburg / Austria
Date: 22.11.1992
Orchestra: die reihe
Conductor: Friedrich Cerha
Remarks: Wien Modern

Work Introduction

The title is a reference to the fact that in conceiving the piece I have attempted to explore the roots from which my musical ideas are derived.  Perhaps this has also something to do with the grave illness I had recovered from - I have felt the need to draw a balance sheet of my musical means - to take a critical look at the repertoire of my fantasy, so to speak, and to eliminate everything that seemed to have proved itself too often in the past. There has remained more than enough in the way of  idiosyncrasies of the musical idiom, of gestures and tools. But the "Sources" of my musical inspiration were meant to come to the surface more clearly and distinctly - even (and especially) there where they may not appear to be "up to date".

The contemplative character of the piece corresponds to this particular phase in my life: simplicity and stillness are called for. The first section ends abruptly  with a series of fortechords which are to recur at the ending of the piece. Polymetric strata placed on top of each other, based primarily on African rhythms, build "busy" islands within the overall meditative mood. A passage from Langegger Nachtmusik No 3, my latest orchestral piece, has also been included.  What is unusual for me is the absence of bass instruments over long stretches of music - something that makes the sound "hang in the air".

Friedrich Cerha

score - Quellen

  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: score

score - Quellen

  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.