Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Tagebuch

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha

Year of composition: 2012
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 3 2 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A (+bass cl(Bb))
3rd clarinet in A (+bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
violin I
violin II
double bass
Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag des Hessischen Rundfunks
Duration: 15′30″
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Tagebuch

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Alte Oper Frankfurt am Main / Germany
Date: 05.02.2014
Orchestra: hr-Sinfonieorchester
Conductor: Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Work Introduction

My weighty, extensive 3 Orchesterstücke, with their “confessional” expression (Berceuse céleste/Intermezzo/Tombeau), were followed in autumn 2011 by the much simpler Skizzen [Sketches] for orchestra: short pieces, transparently scored and easily comprehensible.

Even while working on them, my thoughts were turning to some other musical situations, and so I wrote eight pieces, epigrammatically tailored and even more frugal and transparent than the Skizzen. The composition is called Tagebuch since almost every piece was written in one day. Naturally, their characters vary strongly; some of them even have titles, such as Scherzo, Intermezzo and Etüde.

My objective was spontaneity of diction; paint-brushed lightly and quickly, the pieces are intended to be nothing more than good music, and – my special concern – listeners should notice nothing of the compositional work nevertheless standing behind it.

Friedrich Cerha

Translation by Grant Chorley, 2013

View the full study score

full score - Tagebuch

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

study score - Tagebuch

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.