Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – „In iij. Noct.“

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas
„In iij. Noct.“

Year of composition: 2001
Subtitle: String Quartet no. 3
Scored for: for string quartet
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation details:

Table of Contents:
„In iij. Noct.“ - 3. Streichquartett
Commissioned by: Auftragswerk der Klangspuren Schwaz
Remarks: The work is performed in complete darkness, with the musicians playing from memory in different parts of the room. The performance score contains musical elements with detailed instructions.
Duration: 50′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

In iij. Noct.

World Première

Location: Festung Franzensfeste / Italy
Date: 14.09.2002
Orchestra: Kairos Quartett

Work Introduction

In his third string quartet (“In iij Noct.“), Georg Friedrich Haas continues his experiments with the possibilities of music performed in the dark, as established in Adolf Wölfli and in vain. Darkness, however, is not present in this piece merely as an absence of light, but becomes the key theme of the work: the whole piece is played in complete darkness, the musicians can see neither their music nor their fellow performers, and are seated as far apart from one another as possible – for example they might be seated around the audience in the four corners of the auditorium.

Towards the end of the 3rd String Quartet a quotation from Gesualdo can be heard, from which the work also takes its title (from the Responses: Feria V, Resp. VII).

The 3rd String Quartet is composed as a verbal score, with many details and decisions left to the performers. They communicate solely through the sounds produced by their instruments, inviting one another into musical processes, accepting these invitations or responding in kind with an invitation of their own – and always deciding for themselves how far they choose to go down each path together, before turning back.

The duration of the piece is only decided during the performance: the minimum length is 35 minutes, but the piece can also last considerably longer.

Performing score – "In iij. Noct"

  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: performing score
  • Edition info: The piece is to be played in complete darkness. The musicians play from memory. The score contains detailed performance instructions in German.
  • Language: German
  • UE32339
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1792-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06716-7
EUR 25,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

performing score - „In iij. Noct.“

„In iij. Noct.“
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: performing score
  • Language: English

performing score - „In iij. Noct.“

„In iij. Noct.“
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: performing score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.