Universal Edition - Giuseppe Verdi – 8 Romanze

Giuseppe Verdi

Giuseppe Verdi
8 Romanze

Year of arrangement: 1991
Scored for: transcribed for tenor and orchestra
Composer: Giuseppe Verdi
Arranger: Luciano Berio
Text Author: Andrea Maffei; Felice Romani; Temistocle Solera; Jacopo Vitorelli
Text Editor: Luigi Balestra
Soloists: tenore
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 2 1 - timp, perc, hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
bass tuba
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
In solitaria stanza (Jacopo Vittorelli)
Il poveretto (S. M. Maggioni)
Il mistero (Felice Romani)
L' esule (Temistocle Solera)
Deh, pietoso, oh addolorata (J. W. v. Goethe, trad. Luigi Balestra)
Il tramonto (Andrea Maffei)
Ad una stella (Andrea Maffei)
Brindisi (Andrea Maffei)
Duration: 25′
Dedication: a Mimma Guastoni con affetto
Please check your input!

  • Verdi Giuseppe | Arr.: Luciano Berio

  • 8 Romanze

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

8 Romanze

World Première

Location: Padua / Italy
Date: 27.09.1990
Orchestra: English Chamber Orchestra
Conductor: Luciano Berio
Main Soloists: José Carreras

Work Introduction

Luciano Berio on his arrangement of Verdi's Eight Romances

It is my belief that these eight romances for voice and piano (whose dates of composition are mostly unknown to me) can be considered as true studies, in embryonic form, for scene, arias, and cabalettas of Verdi operas. In fact they contain echoes of “Nabucco”, “La forza del destino”, “Don Carlo”, and even an entire phrase, “Tacea la notte placida” from “Il trovatore”.

It would have been possible for me to orchestrate these expressive and idiomatic romances alla Verdi, in other words, to resuscitate the orchestral mannerisms of early Verdi traceable in the piano part, which itself behaves like a transcription from the orchestra, a “piano-vocal score”. (The code of intrinsic and pragmatic functionality linking orchestral score and reduction in Italian opera is a subject which would perhaps merit close study because of its implications for musical poetics and dissemination.) Instead I have not approached the orchestration in a homogeneous way, because these eight pieces, for all their Verdian style, are quite different from each other in expressive character, musical density and the quality (often abysmal) of their texts.

At times I have paid homage to Verdi by authentically reconstructing his orchestral gestures, at other times I have commented historically on the original musical discourse in such a way that it seems to have come from a distance (from the Verdi of “La Traviata”, for instance, or the Wagner of “Lohengrin” or from somewhere else). Finally, I have sometimes commented on the original text with discreet thematic proliferation or with harmonic transformations which, though organically bound to the Verdian text, tend to produce an “out-of-joint” effect which, I suggest, would have intrigued Verdi as much as Brecht.

I could cite a few instances where this effect of alienation (whose meaning can be perceived only by musical ears) has become unavoidable. In the romance “Deh pietoso, oh addolorata”, on a text by Goethe (but made unrecognisable by the disconcerting translation of Signor Luigi Balestri), Verdi quotes – though I suppose one should speak of anticipation rather than quotation – “Samson et Dalila” by Camille Saint-Saëns. I could not resist the temptation to adapt a certain passage in the Verdi romance to the harmony and refined instrumental colour of the French composer. This and other adaptations help therefore to set the eight romances in a respectful and subtle web of musical references which comments, with the hindsight and distance of 150 years, on the relationship of Verdi’s language, style and manner with time as it passes.

Study score – 8 Romances

  • for tenor and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • Language: Italian
  • UE19915
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5642-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01278-5
EUR 64,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Future Performances

Location: Valetta (MAL), Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Conductor: Daniele Gatti

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.