Universal Edition - Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 2

Gustav Mahler

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 2

Key: C minor
Year of composition: 1888-1894
Additional Name: ‘Resurrection Symphony’
Subtitle: in 5 movements
Scored for: for soli, mixed choir and orchestra
Composer: Gustav Mahler
Edited by: Erwin Ratz
Text Source: "Des Knaben Wunderhorn" und Dichtungen von Friedrich Klopstock
Original Language: Deutsch
Choir: SATB
Soloists: soprano; alto
Instrumentation: 4 4 5 4 - 10 8 4 1 - timp(2), perc(5), hp(2), org, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
4th flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
4th oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Eb
2nd clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
4th bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
4 horns off-stage (also play 7th-10th in the orchestra )
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F
4th trumpet in F
5th trumpet in F
6th trumpet in F
4 trumpets off-stage (2 of them may be played by 5th and 6th trumpet from the orchestra)
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
contrabass tuba
timpani (2 respectively 3 players)
percussion (5): glockenspiel, 2 triangles, cymbal, tam-tam (high), tam-tam (low), 3 bells (bars of steel, low and indefinite sound), rod, snare drum (tbnsibly multiply sized), bass drum, in the distance - 1 timpano, triangle, cymbal, bass drum
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
1. Satz: Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
2. Satz: Andante comodo. Sehr gemächlich. Nie eilen
3. Satz: In ruhig fließender Bewegung
4. Satz: Urlicht - Sehr feierlich aber schlicht. Nicht schleppen
5. Satz: Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend - Wieder zurückhaltend - Langsam. Misterioso
Duration: 80′
Please check your input!

  • Mahler Gustav

  • Symphony No. 2

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

2. Symphonie, c-Moll

World Première

Location: Berlin / Germany
Date: 13.12.1895
Conductor: Gustav Mahler

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Symphony No. 2

Future Performances

Location: Belk Theater, Charlotte, NC (USA), Orchestra: Charlotte Symphony Orchestra, Conductor: Christopher Warren-Green

Location: Belk Theater, Charlotte, NC (USA), Orchestra: Charlotte Symphony Orchestra, Conductor: Christopher Warren-Green

15.05.2017 - Kensington Symphony Orchestra 60th Anniversary Gala
Location: Barbican Hall, London (GB), Orchestra: Kensington Symphony Orchestra, Conductor: Russell Keable

Location: Robert E. Jacoby Symphony Hall, Jacksonville, FL (USA), Orchestra: Jacksonville Symphony, Conductor: Courtney Lewis

Location: Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, Portland, OR (USA), Orchestra: Oregon Symphony , Conductor: Carlos Kalmar

show all preformances

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.