Universal Edition - Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 4

Gustav Mahler

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 4

Key: G major
Year of composition: 1899-1901/1902–1910
Year of arrangement: 2007
Subtitle: in 4 movements
Scored for: for soprano and ensemble or chamber orchestra
Composer: Gustav Mahler
Arranger: Klaus Simon
Text Source: "Des Knaben Wunderhorn"
Original Language: Deutsch
Soloists: soprano
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 0 0 0 - perc(2), harm, pno, str(1 1 1 1 1, max. 6 5 4 3 2)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
oboe (+c.a)
clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
bass cl(Bb))
horn in F
percussion (2 players: glockenspiel, triangle, sleigh bells, chrash cymbal, suspended cymbal, tam-tam, bass drum)
violin I
violin II
Duration: 54′
Please check your input!

  • Mahler Gustav | Arr.: Klaus Simon

  • Symphony No. 4

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

4. Symphonie, G-Dur

World Première

Location: Wasserschloss Nordkirchen / Germany
Date: 13.05.2007
Orchestra: Holst-Sinfonietta
Conductor: Klaus Simon
Main Soloists: Britta Stallmeister, S

Work Introduction

This arrangement was made for a concert programme given by the Freiburg chamber orchestra Holst Sinfonietta in May 2007, which included works by Schönberg and Webern for chamber ensemble. For printing, I made some improvements and small changes to make a version which largely attempts to correct setbacks at the performances back them (especially problems of balance).

This chamber orchestra version is my endeavour to make it in the spirit of Schönberg’s Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen, the way it made practical musical arrangements, retaining Mahler’s unmistakable orchestral sound as much as possible. It is my hope that this version will enable even small ensembles to perform this symphony, the one closest to chamber music of all in Mahler’s oeuvre.

Klaus Simon

View the full score:

Piano reduction – In the Pleasures of Heaven we're Joyous

  • for voice and piano
  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: German; English
  • UE2946
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1565-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01392-8
EUR 12,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

study score - Symphony No. 4

Symphony No. 4
  • for soprano and ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

full score - Symphony No. 4

Symphony No. 4
  • for soprano and ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

Location: London (GB), Orchestra: Group Finnegan Downie Dear, Conductor: Finnegan Downie Dear

Location: Klaipeda Concert Hall, Klaipeda (LT), Orchestra: Klaipeda Chamber Orchestra, Conductor: Mirga Grazinyte-Tyla

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.