Universal Edition - Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 8

Gustav Mahler

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 8

Key: Eb major
Year of composition: 1906
Additional Name: "Symphony of a Thousand"
Subtitle: in 2 movements
Version: reduced version
Scored for: for soli, boys' choir, 2 mixed choirs and orchestra
Composer: Gustav Mahler
Arranger: Erwin Stein
Text Source: Part 1: Veni, creator spiritus. Part 2: final scene from "Faust"
Text Author: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe; Maurus Hrabanus
Parts: 1st soprano (Magna Peccatrix),
2nd soprano (Una poenitentium),
soprano (Mater gloriosa),
1st alto (Mulier Samaritana),
2nd alto (Maria Aegyptiaca),
tenor (Doctor Marianus),
baritone (Pater ecstaticus),
bass (Pater profundus)
Choir: SATB (2x)
Knabenchor (SA)
Soloists: soprano; alto; tenor; baritone; bass
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 4 4 1 - timp, perc(4), hp, cel, harm (ad lib), pno, org, mand, str - fernorchester (ad lib): tpt(4), tbn(3)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb)
3rd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb)
bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in Bb (+tpt(F))
2nd trumpet in Bb (+tpt(F))
3rd trumpet in Bb (+tpt(F))
4th trumpet in Bb (+tpt(F))
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
bass tuba
bells, triangle, bass drum
cymbal, tam-tam
harmonium (ad lib.)
violin I
violin II
fernorchestra (ad lib): 1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F
4th trumpet in F
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
Duration: 90′
Please check your input!

  • Mahler Gustav | Arr.: Erwin Stein

  • Symphony No. 8

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.