Universal Edition - Jay Schwartz – Music for 12 Cellos

Jay Schwartz

Jay Schwartz
Music for 12 Cellos

Year of composition: 2002
Scored for: for 12 violoncellos
Composer: Jay Schwartz
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Commissioned by and dedicated to Josef Hasten.
Duration: 20′
Please check your input!

  • Schwartz Jay

  • Music for 12 Cellos

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Music for 12 Cellos
Music for 12 Cellos

World Première

Location: Tübingen / Germany
Date: 20.01.2002
Orchestra: Musikschule
Remarks: im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs "Jugend musiziert" des Deutschen Musikrats.

Work Introduction

This composition expounds on the spatial aspects of an ensemble of 12 cellists seated in a wide circle. A performance of this piece requires a spatial situation in which the cellists can be positioned in 12 equidistant positions around the audience. A three-dimensional sound experience and the illusion of travelling sound is achieved by this ensemble constellation, a sound metamorphosis which unfolds concretely around the audience.

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Music for 12 Cellos

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.