Universal Edition - Johannes Brahms – Opus 120 No. 1

Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms
Opus 120 No. 1

Opus: op. 120/1
Year of composition: 1986
Year of arrangement: 1986
Subtitle: Sonata for Clarinet (or viola) and piano (1894)
Scored for: transcribed for clarinet (or viola) and orchestra
Composer: Johannes Brahms
Arranger: Luciano Berio
Soloists: clarinet in Bb; viola
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 3 - 3 2 1 0 - timp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
violin I
violin II
Commissioned by: Commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association
Duration: 25′
Dedication: a Franco e Barbara Debenedetti, affettuosamente
Please check your input!

  • Brahms Johannes | Arr.: Luciano Berio

  • Opus 120 No. 1

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Opus 120 Nr. 1, op. 120/1

World Première

Location: Los Angeles / USA
Date: 06.11.1986
Orchestra: Los Angeles Philharmonic
Main Soloists: Zukovsky

Work Introduction

We owe the composition of Brahms’ two clarinet sonatas, Clarinet Trio and Clarinet Quintet to Richard Mühlfeld, the great instrumentalist whom Hans von Bülow had introduced to the composer. Brahms wrote in a letter to Mühlfeld, “I have not been so impulsive as to write a concerto for you.” However, Berio did, in 1986. (His version for viola corresponds to Brahms’, who wrote a viola version since the clarinet was not yet such a common solo instrument at the time). Berio’s orchestration is faithful to Brahms; the result is that the music literature has become richer by two concert works by Brahms.

Study score – op. 120 No. 1

  • for clarinet or viola and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE18868
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5431-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02740-6
EUR 84,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

full score - Opus 120 No. 1

Opus 120 No. 1
  • transcribed for clarinet (or viola) and orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.