Universal Edition - Johannes Maria Staud

Johannes Maria Staud

Johannes Maria Staud

The Composer

born 17th August 1974 – Innsbruck/Austria 

1994–2001 – composition studies at the Vienna Musikhochschule with Michael Jarrell (composition), Dieter Kaufmann (electro accoustic composition), Iván Eröd (harmony and counterpoint) and with Hanspeter Kyburz at the 'Hanns Eisler-Hochschule für Musik' in Berlin;
Masterclass with Brian Ferneyhough and Alois Pinos;
Studies in Philosophy and Musicology;
Co-founder of the composers group 'Gegenklang' in Vienna 

1999/2000 – Fellowship of the Alban Berg Stiftung 

2000 – Publishing contract with Universal Edition;
First Prize of Hanns Eisler Kompositionswettbewerb Berlin  

2001 – Special music prize from the Austrian ...


About the Music

Johannes Maria Staud was born in Innsbruck, Tyrol, on 17 August 1974. However, nothing would be further from the truth than to call him a ‘Tyrolian composer’. In no way is he a provincial figure – in fact, ever since he joined Universal Edition in 2000, at the age of 26, he has become one of the most successful composers of his generation, with prestigious commissions from some of the greatest orchestras and festivals in the world.

Staud and his publisher have every reason to be proud that Sir Simon Rattle has asked him for a composition for the Berlin Philharmonic (Aperion, 2004/2005), that the Salzburg Festival commissioned a cello concerto from him to be premiered as part of ...


10 of 59 Works

show all works