Universal Edition - Juan de Dios Magdaleno – String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’

Juan de Dios Magdaleno

Juan de Dios Magdaleno
String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’

Year of composition: 2015
Subtitle: 2. Streichquartett
Scored for: for string quartet
Composer: Juan de Dios Magdaleno
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
Commissioned by: Juan de Dios Magdaleno ist Gewinner des Ö1 Talentebörse-Kompositionspreises 2014. Eine Kooperation der ORF/Ö1 Talentebörse, der Oesterreichischen Nationalbank und der Universal Edition.

Juan de Dios Magdaleno was awarded the Ö1 ‚Talentebörse‘ composition prize in 2014. A cooperation between the ORF/Ö1 ‚Talentebörse‘, the Oesterreichische Nationalbank and Universal Edition.
Duration: 13′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

„Lorenz’ Traummusik“

World Première

Location: Muth Wien / Austria
Date: 03.12.2015
Orchestra: Minetti Quartett
Remarks: Gewinner des Ö1-Talentebörse Kompositionspreises 2014

Work Introduction

I wrote this work between winter 2014 and summer 2015; it was commissioned by the Ö1 Talentbörse–Kompositionspreis 2014 [“Austrian Broadcasting Corp. 2014 Composition Prize”], a co-op effort of Austrian Broadcasting, the Austrian National Bank and Universal Edition.

Lorenz Traummusik is my second string quartet; it relates to the American mathematician Edward Lorenz, considered the father of chaos theory. I concentrate in the piece mainly on the various temporal aspects of music, microtonality, characteristics of Klangfarbe and musical application of chaos theory, which particularly interests me at the moment.

Lorenz Traummusik is subdivided into 24 short formal sections, in which I attempted to explore concepts such as “nonlinear development” and “alteration from the musical viewpoint.” In the course of the piece, a nonlinear musical discourse evolves in a state of continuous development, thereby constantly recontextualising the qualities and behaviour of the various elements which form the work’s differing constituent parts.

Lorenz Traummusik is dedicated to Virve Magdaleno and the Minetti String Quartet.

Juan de Dios Magdaleno

study score - String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’

String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: study score

set of parts - String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’

String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: set of parts

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.