Universal Edition - Julian Yu – Concerto

Julian Yu

Julian Yu

Opus: op. 38
Year of composition: 1996
Scored for: for marimba and small orchestra
Composer: Julian Yu
Soloists: Marimbaphon
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 - perc, str
Instrumentation details:
1(picc)·1·1·0 - 1·1·0·0 - perc, strings
Duration: 21′
Please check your input!

  • Yu Julian

  • Concerto

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Concerto, op. 38

World Première

Location: Hawthorn Town Hall Melbourne / Australia
Date: 23.06.1996
Orchestra: The Academy of Melbourne
Conductor: Brett Kelly
Main Soloists: Robert Clarke, mar
Remarks: UK Premiere: 19 May 1997 Newbury Spring Festival, Newbury Corn Exchange Bournemouth Sinfonietta, Evelyn Glennie (marimba), Stefan Asbury (conductor)

Work Introduction

This is the first concerto that I have ever written. Brett Kelly, the Artistic Director of the Academy of Melbourne, suggested that I write it for Robert Clarke, principal percussionist of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. To show my appreciation for his support, I have dedicated the piece to the Academy of Melbourne.

This piece has three movements, and has also retained other characteristics of the traditional concerto such as virtuosity in the solo part, the symphonic development of the orchestral part, and a cadenza (here mostly with the timpanist).

I have always been fascinated by Western classical music - by its organisation, discipline and formularisation. These qualities also belong to Chinese folk music. To some people they mean limitation and the end of creation, but I think they are important and give the composer still greater scope for freedom and creativity by providing a firm base from which to work.

While writing this piece, I adopted the Chinese method of ornamenting a pre-existing piece until it becomes a new one. To make more interesting listening I leave the audience to guess what the original pieces were for each of the movements. They are all well-known works from the Western tradition.

Julian Yu

study score - Concerto

  • for marimba and small orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

study score - Concerto

  • for marimba and small orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.