Universal Edition - Julian Yu – First Australian Suite

Julian Yu

Julian Yu
First Australian Suite

Opus: op. 22
Year of composition: 1990
Scored for: for chamber orchestra
Composer: Julian Yu
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - hp, perc - str
Instrumentation details:
1(/picc)·1·1·1 - 1·1·1·0 - hp - perc - strings
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

First Australian Suite, op. 22

World Première

Location: Victoria State Gallery Rantos Collegium / Australia
Date: 19.09.1991
Conductor: Alkis Baltas
Remarks: UK Premiere: 11 July 1997 Cambridge, West Road Concert Hall; Britten Sinfonia, Nicholas Cleobury (conductor)

Work Introduction

It is non-programmatic, the name referring to the composer’s location during its composition rather than to the content. In fact the piece grew out of one of the composer’s vocal works, In the sunshine of Bach.

First Australian Suite consists of three movements, each based on a different work by J S. Bach and each constructed using different principles. The first takes as its framework a canon from Bach’s A Musical Offering. Its original palindromic form is still there behind the enlargement and ornamentation to which the canon has been subjected. The second movement is based on the Fugue in C minor from the second volume of Bach’s The well-tempered Klavier; each voice is expanded into three staggered parts. The third movement contains many of Bach’s well-known themes (including that based on the letters B-A-C-H), which are combined contrapuntally and ornamented.

Julian Yu

score - First Australian Suite

First Australian Suite
  • for chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.