Universal Edition - Karlheinz Stockhausen – Kreuzspiel

Karlheinz Stockhausen

Karlheinz Stockhausen

Works Index: Nr. 1/7
Year of composition: 1951
Scored for: for oboe, bass clarinet, piano and 3 percussionists
Composer: Karlheinz Stockhausen
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 11′30″
Dedication: für Doris Andreae
Please check your input!

  • Stockhausen Karlheinz

  • Kreuzspiel

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Kreuzspiel, Nr. 1/7

World Première

Location: Darmstadt / Germany
Date: 21.07.1952
Conductor: Karlheinz Stockhausen

Work Introduction

Stockhausen was 23 years old when he composed this piece, scoring it for oboe, bass clarinet, piano and three percussionists. He conducted its premiere performance (Darmstadt, 1952), which ended in a scandal. The structure of the piece, consisting of three “stages,” the processes set in motion (clearly and precisely indicated in Stockhausen’s introduction) were evidently too new, too revolutionary. Now, 60 years later, Kreuzspiel is played the world over, from Tokyo to Sao Paulo to Lucerne, as a standard piece in the repertoire of modern classics.

The work consists of an interplay, a “crossing” or “intersecting” of “temporal and spatial processes” which are “simultaneously linked” in the third stage.

Score – Kreuzspiel

  • for oboe, bass clarinet, piano (woodblock) and 3 percussionists (6 tom-toms, 2 tumbas or congas, 4 cymbals)
  • Edition type: score
  • Edition info: With improved preface and comments on interpretation by the composer. Orchestra material on hire
  • UE35004
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6910-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08252-8
EUR 46,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Future Performances

22.08.2017 - Festival Jardins Musicaux 2017
Location: Grange Aux Concerts, Cernier (CH), Orchestra: Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain, Conductor: Matthias Kuhn

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.