Universal Edition - Kurt Weill – The New Orpheus

Kurt Weill

Kurt Weill
The New Orpheus

Opus: op. 16
Year of composition: 1925
Subtitle: Cantata
Version: based on the text of the Kurt Weill Edition
Scored for: for soprano, solo violin and orchestra
Composer: Kurt Weill
Edited by: Andreas Eichhorn
Text Author: Ivan Goll
Soloists: violin; soprano
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 0 2 2 0 - timp, perc(2), hp, vla(12), vc(12), cb(8)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
viola I(6)
viola II(6)
violoncello I(6)
violoncello II(6)
Remarks: based on the text of the critically edited full score, Kurt Weill Edition, Ser. II, Vol. 2
Duration: 18′
Dedication: für Lotte Leonard
Please check your input!

  • Weill Kurt

  • The New Orpheus

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Der neue Orpheus, op. 16

World Première

Location: Berlin / Germany
Date: 02.03.1927
Conductor: Erich Kleiber
Main Soloists: Rudolf Deman, vln

Work Introduction

Kurt Weill’s cantata Der Neue Orpheus (1927), on a text by Ivan Goll, is an expressionistic, freely tonal work which mixes the very different stylistic worlds of operatic aria and chanson. At the same time it also includes parodistic echoes of popular and traditional elements – for example, impressionistic features at the beginning of the vocal part, or down-to-earth, acerbic moments bordering on cabaret grotesquerie. The music of Gustav Mahler is referred to both in the music as well as in the text itself. The text narrates the tragic story of a singer who sets off for the grey walls of modern cities in order to rescue Euridice and with her, humanity. Seven variations depict the distortion of our musical life and experience of music. Euridice is a prostitute, redemption impossible – and Orpheus shoots himself.

Piano reduction – Der neue Orpheus (The New Orpheus)

  • for soprano, solo violin and piano
  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Edition info: According to the complete Kurt Weill Edition (Series II, Volume 2 )
  • Language: German
  • UE35049
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7147-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08478-2
EUR 27,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.