Universal Edition - Leoš Janáček – From the House of the Dead

Leoš Janáček

Leoš Janáček
From the House of the Dead

Year of composition: 1927-1928
Year of arrangement: 1962
Subtitle: Opera in 3 acts
Version: Historische Fassung (mit Originalschluss - geänderter Schluss v. 3. Akt v. R. Kubelik)
Composer: Leoš Janácek
Arranger: Rafael Kubelik
Text Source: "Notes from the house of the dead"
Librettist: Leoš Janácek
Original Language: Tschechisch
Translator: Max Brod
Parts: Petrowitsch, baritone
Alej, tenor
Luka, tenor
Der Platzkommandant, baritone
Skuratoff, tenor
Tschekunoff, baritone
Schischkoff, bass-baritone
a number of smaller parts and silents parts
Choir: TB
Instrumentation: 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(5), hp, cel, bass tpt, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
4th flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb)
bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F
bass trumpet (+tenor tuba)
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
Duration: 85′
Please check your input!

  • Janácek Leoš | Arr.: Rafael Kubelik

  • From the House of the Dead

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Work Introduction

Leoš Janáček based his final opera on his own libretto after Dostojevsky’s Memoirs from the House of the Dead. He wrote, drafted and revised the opera in full score during 1927 - 1928. He then had it copied out by two of his long-established copyists (Václav Sedláček and Jaroslav Kulhánek), who shared the work between them. Janáček supervised the copying and the correction of their score, making many changes and additions which resulted in new pages having to be inserted. Then he began a final check through the score, adding extra doublings, dynamics and other details in his own hand. He completed Acts 1 and 2 in this way, but died before he had checked Act 3. In other words, except for a final check of Act 3 and any last-minute alterations Janáček might have made at rehearsals, From the House of the Dead is no less finished than any other Janáček opera.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.