Universal Edition - Leoš Janáček – Taras Bulba

Leoš Janáček

Leoš Janáček
Taras Bulba

Year of composition: 1915-1918
Subtitle: Rhapsody
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Leoš Janácek
Text Source: after the novel by Nikolay Gogol
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(4), hp, org, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C (+tpt(F))
2nd trumpet in C (+tpt(F))
3rd trumpet in C (+tpt(F))
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
tubular bells
snare drum
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Smrt Andrijova / Andrijs Tod / The death of Andriy
Smrt Ostapova / Ostaps Tod / The death of Ostap
Proroctví a smrt Tarase Bulby / Prophezeiung und Tod Taras Bulbas / The prophecy and death of Taras Bulba
Duration: 24′
Please check your input!

  • Janácek Leoš

  • Taras Bulba

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Taras Bulba

World Première

Location: National-Theater Brno / Czech Republic
Date: 09.10.1921
Conductor: Neumann František

Work Introduction

Taras Bulba is a direct reflection of Janáček’s glowing enthusiasm for and sympathies with the struggling Russian nation. The name of his tripartite symphonic rhapsody refers to Gogol’s treatment of the Ukrainian legend of the Cossack Taras Bulba, who died a hero’s death after defeating the Poles in battle in 1628.

Walter Dobner (from the programme booklet 2006/2007):

… as early as 1905, during the time of the Russian-Japanese War, Janáček was already thinking of setting the material to music. He did not do it until 10 years later, when occasion to do so arose: the turmoil of World War I.

Janáček documented the musico-dramatic veins by deliberately concentrating on three striking episodes chosen from the Gogol novella. The first, “Andrij’s Death,” depicts Taras Bulba’s son Andrij falling in love with a Polish girl, betraying his comrades and being shot to death by his father.  The second, “Ostap’s Death,” retells how the Poles torture and kill Taras Bulba’s firstborn son before his very eyes as he looks on helplessly. “Taras Bulba’s Prophecy and Death” portrays the Cossack ataman – captured and tortured by the Poles – professing his faith in eternal Russia as he is burning at the stake …

Study score – Taras Bulba

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • UE34137
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6654-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08011-1
EUR 27,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.