Universal Edition - Luciano Berio – Agnus

Luciano Berio

Luciano Berio

Year of composition: 1971
Scored for: for 2 sopranos, 3 clarinets (and electric organ)
Composer: Luciano Berio
Original Language: Lateinisch
Soloists: soprano
Instrumentation details:
(+ electric organ)
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Ball State University
Duration: 6′
Dedication: a Flora e Giorgio Bloch, affettuosamente
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Ball State University Indiana / USA
Date: 1971
Main Soloists: Scheurer und Olga Sambuco

Work Introduction

Berio’s music in general attempts to cover the wide expressive capabilities of the human voice; he once said that “we are used to considering it as an instrument which it is not; the human voice is simply a field of possibilities. In the last three centuries the human voice has been developed with the implied model usually being an instrument. The ideal model of a voice, if you want, is a clarinet”. Agnus is concerned within a very low dynamic, above a stable tempo and with an articulated drone on the B flat above middle C, with various ways of coming together and moving away, both as regards pitch and rhythmic alignment. In the last 15 bars the pitch range of the piece is heard at its maximum extension.

Michael Nyman

Score – Agnus

Berio komponierte sein "Agnus" auf den lateinischen Text des "Agnus Dei".

  • for 2 voice and 3 clarinets
  • Edition type: score
  • Language: Latin
  • UE13755
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4284-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01525-0
EUR 25,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Set of parts – Agnus

  • for 2 voice and 3 clarinets
  • Edition type: set of parts
  • Edition info: Parts for 3 clarinets (Voice parts = Score)
  • UE30538
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6130-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01524-3
EUR 17,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.