Universal Edition - Luciano Berio – Tempi concertati

Luciano Berio

Luciano Berio
Tempi concertati

Year of composition: 1958-1959
Scored for: for flute, violin, 2 pianos and other instruments
Composer: Luciano Berio
Soloists: flute
Instrumentation: 1 2 3 1 - 1 1 1 0 - perc(4), hp(2), pno(2), vln(1), vla(2), vc(2), cb(1)
Instrumentation details:
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb
horn in F
trumpet in C
tenor trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
xylophone (+glock)
marimba (+vib)
1st harp
2nd harp
1st piano
2nd piano (+cel)
1st viola
2nd viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag des Norddeutschen Rundfunds, Hamburg
Duration: 16′
Dedication: à Henri Pousseur
Please check your input!

  • Berio Luciano

  • Tempi concertati

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Tempi concertati

World Première

Location: Hamburg / Germany
Date: 04.03.1960
Orchestra: NDR-Orchester
Conductor: Ernest Bour
Main Soloists: Alfons und Aloys Kontarsky, Severino Gazzelloni, Hansheinz Schneeberger

Work Introduction

This is pointedly music of the 1950s, according to Berio’s intellect. The flute appears to have the leading role in this instrumental musical theatre, with support, commentary and counteraction from the two pianos and, intermittently, the percussion. Short dramatic altercations take place, the music becomes excited, but then it becomes calm again, lyrical and pensive.

Berio sees it all more prosaically, although he does allow that the piece is about the relationship between the discrete tempo and the communal one (that of the four small instrumental groups) – which is not always the case, but which still needs coordination in every instance. “The fluctuating between specific and relatively vague action can give the composition the discontinuous character of improvisation."

Score – Tempi Concertati

  • for flute, violin, 2 pianos and other instruments
  • Edition type: score
  • UE13205
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4186-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02572-3
EUR 64,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.