Universal Edition - Luke Bedford – Willy and Hugh

Luke Bedford
Willy and Hugh

Year of composition: 2009
Scored for: for narrator and eight instruments
Composer: Luke Bedford
Text Source: The story is by children's author Anthony Browne and is called 'Willy and Hugh'.
Text Author: Anthony Browne
Original Language: Englisch
Parts: narrator
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Wigmore Hall as part of Luke Bedford's tenure as Composer in Residence which is underpinned with the support of André Hoffmann, President of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant making foundation.
Remarks: The music is entirely based on the 2nd movement from Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 101 'The clock'.
Duration: 5′
Please check your input!

  • Bedford Luke

  • Willy and Hugh

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Wigmore Hall London / Great Britain
Date: 29.01.2010
Orchestra: Aurora Orchestra
Conductor: Nicholas Collon
Main Soloists: Narrated by Anthony Browne, the author of the children's book of the same name.

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.