Universal Edition - Morton Feldman – The Viola in My Life 4

Morton Feldman

Morton Feldman
The Viola in My Life 4

Year of composition: 1971
Scored for: for viola and orchestra
Composer: Morton Feldman
Soloists: viola
Instrumentation: 2 3 3 2 - 2 2 2 1 - perc(2), hp, cel, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
tenor trombone
bass trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
celesta (+pno)
violin I
violin II
Commissioned by: Venice Biennale
Duration: 20′
Please check your input!

  • Feldman Morton

  • The Viola in My Life 4

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

The Viola in My Life 4

World Première

Location: Venedig / Italy
Date: 16.09.1971
Conductor: Marcello Panni
Main Soloists: Karen Phillips (viola)

Work Introduction

The cycle The Viola in My Life was begun in July 1970 in Honolulu (composed especially for Karen Phillips, resident performer at Hawaii University) and consists of individual compositions utilising various instrumental combinations with the viola.

“The compositional format is quite simple. Unlike most of my music, the complete cycle of The Viola in My Life (I-IV) is conventionally notated as regards pitches and tempi. I needed the exact time proportions underlying the gradual and slight crescendo characteristic of all the muted sounds the viola plays. It was this aspect that determined the rhythmic sequence of events.” (Feldman)

The attention demanded by Feldman’s music – so soft that it can almost not be heard – is so uniform that it suggests the idea of a surface. We are never quite sure where the sounds are coming from. Time, articulated in most music by rhythm, is perceived as being static. Each sound floats in space, is entirely independent of what has gone before and what has yet to come. Sounds do not progress but merely accumulate in the same place.

The Viola in My Life is a gorgeous succession of delicate sounds in which Feldman, through the interaction of sound and silence, conjures up a desolate magic on a plane where time is somehow altered, transformed.

Morton Feldman

Score – The Viola in My Life IV

  • for viola and orchestra
  • Edition type: score
  • UE15408
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4712-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04598-1
EUR 31,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.