Universal Edition - Nikolai Badinski – Violin Concerto No. 2

Nikolai Badinski

Nikolai Badinski
Violin Concerto No. 2

Year of composition: 1970-1972
Additional Name: Mission of Life
Subtitle: Mission of Life ...
Scored for: for violin and orchestra
Composer: Nikolai Badinski
Soloists: violin
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 0 - timp, perc(2), str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in Bb
2nd trumpet in Bb
1st trombone
2nd trombone
th timpani
1st percussion
2nd percussion
violin I
violin II
double bass
Duration: 47′
Please check your input!

  • Badinski Nikolai

  • Violin Concerto No. 2

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

2. Konzert

World Première

Location: Xiamen / China
Date: 14.03.2014
Orchestra: Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Fu Renchang
Main Soloists: Zhi-Jong Wang, Violine

Work Introduction

In March 2014, the Xiamen University – which, with more than 40.000 students, is one of China’s most important universities and of international renown – invited Nikolai Badinski to present his music and give lectures in the frame of the prestigious „Nanqiang” Lectures of Excellence. Furthermore, the composer was honoured with the badge of honour of the Xiamen University.

Nikolai Badinski, Zhi-Jong Wang, Renchang Fu and the Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra (c) Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra

Nikolai Badinski on the world première of his Violin Concerto No. 2:

Zhi-Jong Wang, Nikolai Badinski and Renchang Fu With the successful and convincing realisation of the 42 years delayed world première of my lost Violin Concerto No. 2 – performed by the Shanghai violinist Zhi-Jong Wang and the Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra under Renchang Fu – the young and extremely gifted soloist Zhi-Jong Wang has categorically confirmed a prediction that I made one year ago – that she is a star of tomorrow. Only that she already plays like a star.

The Second Violin Concerto is part of a trilogy *) of violin concertos. It was written at about the same time as the third one. It was lost along with several of my other compositions, when I escaped from East to West Berlin in 1976. Only many years after the German Unification of 1990 did it resurface again.

Prof. Deqing Wen, composer and Artistic Director of New Music Weeks Shanghai and Nikolai Badinski at the Shanghai Conservatory of MusicThe philosophical idea underlying the composition is the relationship of a young individual to society. Finding ones place in the community is one of the central aims, and gives meaning to ones life. It is of great importance for a young person to find the connection between the “I” and the “We”, and to actively participate in community life in order to contribute to creating a better world.

The first movement starts with a long monologue of the solo violin, after which the orchestral instruments enter one by one transparently, creating an idyllic, colorful, and almost “romantic” atmosphere.

At the end of this meditation or contemplation of the individual, the second movement begins without interruption (attacca), with an outburst of vitality by means of fiery, almost wild rhythms, illustrating the whirling of life in society; a real manifestation of “Sturm und Drang.”

The whole concerto radiates youthful energy and emotional vitality. Fiery and sometimes boisterous rhythms confront a lively melodic and a rich, colorful sound-scope. The appreciative solo part allows the violinist to display true musicality and rich imagination at a high technical level, thereby creating an exciting performance. The orchestra is not simply accompanying the solo violin, it shapes the musical processes as an equal partner.

*) Each of these three Violin Concertos can be played separately, but I conceived them all together as a Trilogy, like a Violin “Encyclopaedia” with Orchestra – a true challenge for the soloist.

Nikolai Badinski

study score - Violin Concerto No. 2

Violin Concerto No. 2
  • for violin and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

full score - Violin Concerto No. 2

Violin Concerto No. 2
  • for violin and orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

solo part(s) - Violin Concerto No. 2

Violin Concerto No. 2
  • for violin and orchestra
  • Edition type: solo part(s)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.