Universal Edition - Paul Patterson – Spider's Web

Paul Patterson

Paul Patterson
Spider's Web

Scored for: for harp and string orchestra
Composer: Paul Patterson
Soloists: harp
Instrumentation details:
violin I
violin II
double bass
Commissioned by: Spider's Web was proposed by Geoffrey Alvarez, commissioned by the Alvarez Chamber Orchestra for the Plucked from Nowhere season with funding from the PRS for Music Foundation.
Duration: 12′
Dedication: for Gwyneth Wentink
Please check your input!

  • Patterson Paul

  • Spider's Web

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Stadtsaal Kufstein / Austria
Date: 25.05.2013
Orchestra: Cappella Istropolitana
Conductor: Bernhard Sieberer
Main Soloists: Gwyneth Wentink, hp

Work Introduction

The Spider's Web takes the form of a mini concerto in 4 movements for solo harp and string orchestra. It is based on Spiders for solo harp written in 1985 which has since become popular amongst harpist internationally.

The solo harp part is virtually the same as the original Spiders, with only a few additions. The orchestra accompanies the harp with added introductions, comments and interludes.

The movements are named after four of the most deadly spiders:

1. Dancing White Lady
2. Red Backed Spider
3. Black Widow
4. Tarantula

The “Dancing White Lady” is a fast 7/8 movement with lots of crossed rhythms that weave between the orchestra and the soloist.

The second movement starts with a calm orchestral introduction giving the sense of peace. The harp interrupts this calm atmosphere with sharp irregular motives that represent the “Red Backed Spider” who sits patiently for its prey before it strikes with great speed.

In the “Black Widow” movement we enter the mysterious world of timelessness as the spider relentlessly weaves its web.

The last movement, a tarantella, is a wild Neapolitan dance in triple time; it is believed to take its name from the “Tarantula” whose poisonous bite is said causes a “hysterical impulse to dance”.

Paul Patterson

View the full study score

full score - Spider's Web

Spider's Web
  • for harp and string orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

study score - Spider's Web

Spider's Web
  • for harp and string orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.