Universal Edition - Pierre Boulez – Répons

Pierre Boulez

Pierre Boulez

Year of composition: 1981-1984/1985
Scored for: for 6 soloists, ensemble and live electronics
Composer: Pierre Boulez
Soloists: vibraphone; glockenspiel; harp; cimbalom; piano; piano
Instrumentation: 2 2 3 2 - 2 2 2 1 - vln(3), vla(2), vc(2), cb(1) - live electronics
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st violin
2nd violin
3rd violin
1st viola
2nd viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
Table of Contents:
Répons für 6 Solisten, Ensemble und Live-Eletktronik
Remarks: Work in progress.
Oeuvre réalisée dans les studios de l´IRCAM
Assistant musical: Andrew Gerzso Duplication des logiciels et banques de données de son strictement
Utilisation des logiciels et banques de données de son limitée exclusivement a
Duration: 45′
Dedication: à Alfred Schlee pour son 80e anniversaire
Please check your input!

  • Boulez Pierre

  • Répons

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Donaueschingen / Germany
Date: 18.10.1981
Orchestra: Ensemble Intercontemporain
Conductor: Pierre Boulez
Main Soloists: Michel Cerutti, Vincent Bauer, Daniel Ciampolini, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Alain Neveux, Marie-Claire Jamet, IRCAM, Experimentalstudio der Heinrich-Strobel-Stiftung des SWF


The music is crystalline in its sheer beauty and in the mysterious network of quasi-neural connections that Boulez creates between every sound and moment in the piece. But Répons also has an awesome, torrential energy, in the streams of surreally fast music that careen throughout the ensemble, and in the collective, multi-dimensional sonic spectacular that the collective acoustic and electronic ensemble can create. (Tom Service, The Guardian, 12 June 2015)

Study score – Répons

  • for 6 soloists, ensemble and live electronics
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE33696
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7295-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08626-7
EUR 120,00

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

- Répons

  • for 6 soloists, ensemble and live electronics

- Répons

  • for 6 soloists, ensemble and live electronics
  • Language: English

Future Performances

Location: Kunitachi College of Music, Kunitachi (J), Orchestra: Kunitachi Philharmonic, Conductor: Yasuaki Itakura

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.