Universal Edition - Richard Dünser – 3 Stücke

Richard Dünser

Richard Dünser
3 Stücke

Year of arrangement: 2011
Subtitle: (D 946 I/II, D 625 IV)
Scored for: for ensemble (chamber orchestra)
Composer: Franz Schubert
Arranger: Richard Dünser
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 0 0 0 - str(5)
Instrumentation details:
clarinet in A
horn in F
violin I
violin II
double bass
Duration: 29′
Please check your input!

  • Schubert Franz | Arr.: Richard Dünser

  • 3 Stücke

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

3 Stücke

World Première

Location: Radiokulturhaus Wien / Austria
Date: 13.06.2012
Orchestra: Theophil Ensemble Wien

Work Introduction

These pieces, scored for wind quintet and string quintet, are intended to enlarge and expand the literature for such ensembles with Schubert’s Octet, Beethoven’s Septet and Brahms’ Nonet in their repertoire, although with multiple strings to a part they are definitely performable by chamber orchestras.

For me, these pieces are a new involvement with Schubert’s music, although it has been with me since the beginning of my compositional work; my versions of the F minor Fantasy D 940 for orchestra (1983), Schubert’s unfinished opera Der Graf von Gleichen D 918 (1993-1996) and my Nebensonnen for string orchestra (2002 – in the quotations from the B-flat Sonata for piano D 960) – played decisive roles in my own composing.

The lowering atmosphere, dark seascapes and fragile utopias of the musical landscapes in all of these works have fascinated and inspired me – and many other 20th and 21st-century composers, too (Webern, Denisov, Zender, etc.).

The orchestration of these three pieces can also help to reconstruct and experience Schubert’s “path to the Great Symphony” which he pioneered in various chamber-music pieces; this is why I chose the fourth movement of the Sonata D 625 (“a collision of horrific contrasts in the narrowest space,” as Alfred Beaujean described it) for the third and final piece. Besides, I wanted to block out the collapse even more, to mask the destruction of Utopia even more radically, to present the dramatics even more pointedly and – finally – divert attention from everything conciliatory, in order to focus on – to modify Schönberg’s words – Schubert, the modernist.

Richard Dünser

study score - 3 Stücke

3 Stücke
  • for ensemble (chamber orchestra)
  • Edition type: study score

study score - 3 Stücke

3 Stücke
  • for ensemble (chamber orchestra)
  • Edition type: study score

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.