Universal Edition - Richard Dünser – Kammersymphonie

Richard Dünser

Richard Dünser

Year of composition: 1915
Year of arrangement: 2013
Subtitle: nach dem Streichquartett Nr. 2
Scored for: for 14 soloinstruments or chamber orchestra
Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
Arranger: Richard Dünser
Instrumentation: 1 2 2 1 - 2 0 0 0, basset hn, vln, vln, vla, vc, cb
Instrumentation details:
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
clarinet in A
basset horn
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st violin
2nd violin
double bass
Duration: 40′
Please check your input!

  • Zemlinsky Alexander | Arr.: Richard Dünser

  • Kammersymphonie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Musikverein Wien / Austria
Date: 21.10.2013
Orchestra: Ensemble Kontrapunkte
Conductor: Peter Keuschnig

Work Introduction

The instrumentation is exactly the same as Schönberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1 (without contrabassoon). This means that the two works can be ideally combined. The original – Zemlinsky’s String Quartet No. 2, used as a starting point by Richard Dünser – is dedicated to Schönberg and contains allusions to the famous fourths in Schönberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1. Stylistically speaking, it is not infrequently influenced by early Schönberg and late Mahler, but – needless to say – it is for the most part vintage Zemlinsky. It is possible to perform this work not only as a version for 14 solo instruments but also with string sections, i.e. with a large chamber orchestra or a small orchestra.

View the full study score

full score - Kammersymphonie

  • for 14 soloinstruments or chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

Location: Matsukata Hall, Kobe (J), Orchestra: Kobe City Chamber Orchestra, Conductor: Johannes Meissl

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.