Universal Edition - Sir Harrison Birtwistle – Antiphonies

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Year of composition: 1992
Scored for: for piano and orchestra
Composer: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Soloists: piano
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - perc(4), hp(2), str(24 0 8 8 8)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+2nd picc)
3rd flute (+1st picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb)
bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon (+2nd cbsn)
3rd bassoon (+1st cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C (+picc.tpt)
2nd trumpet in C (+picc.tpt)
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone (+cb.tuba)
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
1st harp
2nd harp
1-4th violin
5-8th violin
9-12th violin
13-16th violin
17-20th violin
21-24th violin
1-4th viola
5-8th viola
1-4th violoncello
5-8th violoncello
1-4th contrabass
5-8th contrabass
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Vincent Meyer for the Philharmonia Orchestra, and Betty Freeman for the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra
Duration: 30′
Dedication: to the memory of Howard Hartog
Please check your input!

  • Birtwistle Sir Harrison

  • Antiphonies

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Paris / France
Date: 05.05.1993
Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra
Conductor: Pierre Boulez
Main Soloists: Joanna MacGregor, pn

Work Introduction

This work is not a “piano concerto” in the way the term is usually understood; it is a struggle between the solo instrument – perhaps a struggle for survival – and the menacing, often demonic powers of the orchestra.

The winds and percussion dominate the sonic character while the strings, except for one short melodic fragment, remain in the background. Slow forte sections unleash the full orchestra, between moments of Impressionistic calm, where the piano part seems like an improvisation, a fantasia - until the struggle resumes …


  • UE19872
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5638-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04353-6
EUR 46,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

study score - Antiphonies

  • for piano and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

study score - Antiphonies

  • for piano and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

full score - Antiphonies

  • for piano and orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.