Universal Edition - Sir Harrison Birtwistle – Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum

Year of composition: 1977/1978
Scored for: for ensemble
Composer: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - mar, pno, str(1 1 1 1 1)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
bassoon (+cbsn)
horn in F
trumpet in C
piano (or e.pno)
1st violin(1)
2nd violin(1)
Commissioned by: Commissioned by London Sinfonietta
Remarks: Paul Klee
Duration: 9′20″
Dedication: Dedicated "to my friends the London Sinfonietta on the occasion of their tenth birthday"
Please check your input!

  • Birtwistle Sir Harrison

  • Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Queen Elizabeth Hall London / Great Britain
Date: 24.01.1978
Orchestra: London Sinfonietta
Conductor: Harrison Birtwistle

Work Introduction

Birtwistle composed this piece for the London Sinfonietta; he also conducted its first performance. It has become a standard work in the ensemble repertoire everywhere in the decades since then – and no wonder; it is highly appealing, playful and diversified instrumental theatre music (similar to Secret Theatre), in which “mechanisms,” i.e. groups behaving like mechanical devices, declare hostilities against one another in various rhythmic patterns and registers.

At age 33, Birtwistle had already found his own musical language, which he used to relate Carmen Arcadiae; its multitude of characteristic traits would come to mark his subsequent compositions.

Score – Carmen arcadiae mechanicae perpetuum

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: score
  • UE16166
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4832-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04322-2
EUR 94,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Score – Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum

  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: score
  • Edition info: PDF download
  • UED1616600
EUR 93,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.