Universal Edition - Sir Harrison Birtwistle – Secret Theatre

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Secret Theatre

Year of composition: 1984
Scored for: for chamber ensemble
Composer: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - perc(1), pno, str(1 1 1 1 1)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
clarinet in Bb
bassoon (+cbsn)
horn in F
trumpet in C (+picc.tpt in Bb)
1st violin
2nd violin
Commissioned by: Commissioned by the London Sinfonietta (with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain and the London Sinfonietta)
Duration: 28′
Dedication: Dedicated to Sheila Birtwistle
Please check your input!

  • Birtwistle Sir Harrison

  • Secret Theatre

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Secret Theatre

World Première

Location: Queen Elizabeth Hall London / Great Britain
Date: 18.10.1984
Orchestra: London Sinfonietta
Conductor: David Atherton

Work Introduction

Secret Theatre is a classic of the international ensemble literature. As the title implies, it is instrumental theatre; great commotion predominates among the conflicting voices until one of them is allowed to present a monologue. The music becomes calm, the soloist “sings” a melody while the other voices comment, but soon the general ruckus returns. Birtwistle says, “What I do is something I call instrumental role-playing … I don’t write an actual piece and then add a number of instruments – it is more like a play with persons that way, how they sound and what they say.”

Study score – Secret Theatre

  • for Chamber Ensemble
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE17917
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3314-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04096-2
EUR 128,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Future Performances

Location: Kölner Philharmonie, Köln (D), Orchestra: Ensemble Modern

Location: Oper Frankfurt, Mozart Saal, Frankfurt am Main (D), Orchestra: Ensemble Modern, Conductor: Paul Daniel

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.