Universal Edition - Victoria Borisova-Ollas – ... and time is running past midnight ...

Victoria Borisova-Ollas

Victoria Borisova-Ollas
... and time is running past midnight ...

Year of composition: 2014
Subtitle: for orchestra
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Victoria Borisova-Ollas
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
piano (+cel)
violin I
violin II
double bass
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Swedish Radio Ltd.
Duration: 9′
Please check your input!

  • Borisova-Ollas Victoria

  • ... and time is running past midnight ...

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

... and time is running past midnight .....

World Première

Location: Berwaldhallen Stockholm / Sweden
Date: 22.10.2015
Orchestra: Swedish RSO
Conductor: Joana Carneiro

Work Introduction

… and time is running past midnight … is rather short orchestral “post-scriptum” to my first opera Dracula. Though not containing any direct musical or scenographic quotes from the almost two hours long performance this composition certainly is a sort of an echo of the intense emotional atmosphere of the Dracula score. The listener should of course feel free from having any associative bonds to the subject of Bram Stoker’s vampyres and their adventures. The main theme of this composition, reflected mostly in the rhythmic structure of the score is the time which is running rapidly towards an unknown future.

Victoria Borisova-Ollas

View the full study score

study score - ... and time is running past midnight ...

... and time is running past midnight ...
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.