Universal Edition - Vítezslav Novák – Toman und die Waldfee

Vítezslav Novák

Vítezslav Novák
Toman und die Waldfee

Opus: op. 40
Year of composition: 1906-1907
Subtitle: Symphonische Dichtung
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Vítezslav Novák
Instrumentation details:
3 3 3 3 - 6 3 3 1 - perc - 2 hp - str
Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:
Duration: 25′
Please check your input!

  • Novák Vítezslav

  • Toman und die Waldfee

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Toman und die Waldfee, op. 40

World Première

Location: Tschechische Philharmonie Prag / Czech Republic
Date: 05.05.1908
Orchestra: Tschechische Philharmonie Prag
Conductor: Karel Kovarovic

Work Introduction

Vítězslav Novák composed his symphonic poem for orchestra Toman and the Wood Nymph op. 40 (1906–07) on a poem by Ladislav Čelanský. Novák briefly summarized its content as follows:

“Impelled by secret anxiety, Toman decided, on the eve of St. John´s Day, to visit his beloved. His concerns did not deceive him, for she had deserted him for another. He entered the forest to die there in the embraces of a Wood Nymph.”

Of this work, Vladimír Lébl wrote: “In reality this composition has also a decidedly subjective character, and is a portrayal of Novák’s own interreal emotions, inflamed by unrestrained passions of love. His own experiences as well as his impressions from reading Strindberg, from the erotic sketches of Félicien Ropse and last but not least his experience of Strauss’ Salome all played a role. This equally Czech Salome reveals, in its musical fabric and in its tempestuous urgency, a clear sonic affinity to the music of Strauss: a complex polyphonic texture with precipitate dissonant thrusts in the individual voices, with continuous shocks and tremors of the sonic masses, with the swirl of wild passions thrusting forward in inexorable haste. When this work was first performed in 1908, [...] the composer’s contemporaries expressed amazement at its great skill and relentlessness. It seemed that he had not only attained the threshold of his own development but also indeed of music itself.” (Vladimír Lébl: Vítězslav Novák, Prague 1968)

Christoph Schlüren

English translation: Andrew D McCredie

piano reduction - Toman und die Waldfee

Toman und die Waldfee
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: piano reduction

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.