Universal Edition - Vykintas Baltakas – Commentum

Vykintas Baltakas

Vykintas Baltakas

Year of composition: 2011
Scored for: for violoncello and piano
Composer: Vykintas Baltakas
Instrumentation details:
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Vilnius Festival / Philharmonie Vilnius
Duration: 10′
Dedication: für David Geringas und Ian Fountain
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Lithuanian National Philharmonic Vilnius / Lithuania
Date: 02.06.2011
Main Soloists: David Geringas, vc; Ian Fountain, pno

Work Introduction

“commentum: ‘comment, interpretation, invention, fabrication, fiction’, in classical Latin; neut. pp. of comminisci ‘to contrive, devise’, from com-, intensive prefix + base of meminisse (to remember).

Commentum is a free rendition of Chopin’s Introduction after listening to it again. Without any alterations, predilections and attempts at ‘modernisation’, but rather like a spontaneous expression of one’s personal opinion.

It was written for David Geringas and Ian Fountain as a commission from the Vilnius Festival.”

(Vykintas Baltakas)

World première 2 June 2011 at the Vilnius Festival.

View the full study score

performing score - Commentum

  • for violoncello and piano
  • Edition type: performing score

performing score - Commentum

  • for violoncello and piano
  • Edition type: performing score

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.