Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – 12. Streichquartett

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
12. Streichquartett

Year of composition: 2000-2001
Scored for: for string quartet
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Commissioned by I TEATRI in Reggio Emilia for the 6th Competition "Premio Borciani" - Reggio Emilia, June 16–23, 2002
Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

12. Streichquartett

World Première

Location: Reggio Emilia / Italy
Date: 23.06.2002
Main Soloists: Teilnehmer des Internationalen Wettbewerbs für Streichquartett

Work Introduction

Whereas Rihm confronted the Follia theme in String Quartet No. 10, his String Quartet No. 12 is based on his own material: his three-minute piece Fetzen [“Tatters”] from 1999. As Irvine Arditti writes in his note on the piece: “Rihm initially brought Fetzen in its original form into the 12th quartet before the first violin takes up and replays the material in a last solo passage, so it can, so to speak, be ‘orchestrated’ by the rest of the quartet. The energetic over-painting of the Fetzen material determines the events, before the piece finishes, extremely restrained.”

Set of parts – String Quartet No. 12

  • 2 violins, viola and cello
  • Edition type: set of parts
  • UE31952
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-0855-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06497-5
EUR 68,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

pocket score - 12. Streichquartett

12. Streichquartett
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: pocket score

pocket score - 12. Streichquartett

12. Streichquartett
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: pocket score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.