Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – 4. Abgesangsszene

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
4. Abgesangsszene

Year of composition: 1979-1980
Scored for: for mezzo-soprano and orchestra
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Text Author: Friedrich Nietzsche
Original Language: Deutsch
Soloists: mezzo-soprano
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 2 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, pno, str(14 12 10 8 6)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C (+bass tpt in C)
1st trombone
2nd trombone
piano (+cel)
violin I(14)
violin II(12)
Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag des Radio-Symphonieorchesters Berlin
Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • 4. Abgesangsszene

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Berlin / Germany
Date: 18.09.1983
Orchestra: Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Conductor: Hans Zender
Main Soloists: Marjana Lipovšek, MezzoS

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.