Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Cantus firmus

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
Cantus firmus

Year of composition: 1990
Subtitle: Music in memoriam Luigi Nono (1st attempt)
Scored for: for 14 instrumentalists
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Instrumentation: 0 0 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - perc(2), pno, vln(2), vla, vc(2), cb
Instrumentation details:
bass clarinet in Bb
trumpet in C
horn in F
1st percussion
2nd percussion
1st violin
2nd violin
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
Duration: 4′
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Cantus firmus

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Cantus firmus

World Première

Location: Glasgow / Great Britain
Date: 17.09.1990
Orchestra: Ensemble 13
Conductor: Manfred Reichert

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.