Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Chiffre I

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
Chiffre I

Year of composition: 1982
Scored for: for piano and 7 instruments
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Soloists: piano
Instrumentation: cl, bsn, tpt, tbn, vc(2), cb(1)
Instrumentation details:
clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
trumpet in C
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
Duration: 8′
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Chiffre I

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Chiffre I

World Première

Location: Saarbrücken / Germany
Date: 22.04.1983
Orchestra: RSO Saarbrücken
Conductor: Bernhard Kontarsky
Main Soloists: Aloys Kontarsky, Klav

Work Introduction

These eight minutes are fully charged with musical events. In the first half, the piano takes the main role by far, performing as a kind of piano furioso, driving the music breathlessly onward, the part replete with sforzatissimo and fortissimo marcato, barely allowing the other instruments to have a say.

A short section follows, in which the piano seems exhausted, but the rapid triple forte, sempre marcatissimo drive soon returns. Then the mood and tempo change again, as the roles are newly distributed; the ensemble takes the lead – quick, restless, loud and abounding with sforzatissimi, the piano adding commentary. A dialogue between the solo instrument and the ensemble fuels the music’s impulse anew until, just before the end, the ensemble instruments begin to pulse. The piece ends with a quadruple forte in the piano.

Translation: Grant Chorley

score - Chiffre I

Chiffre I
  • for piano and 7 instruments
  • Edition type: score

study score - Chiffre I

Chiffre I
  • for piano and 7 instruments
  • Edition type: study score

study score - Chiffre I

Chiffre I
  • for piano and 7 instruments
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.