Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Fremde Szenen I-III

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
Fremde Szenen I-III

Year of composition: 1982-1984
Subtitle: Attempts for piano trio – 1st series
Scored for: for violin, violoncello and piano
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Instrumentation details:
Table of Contents:
Fremde Szene I
Fremde Szene II – „Charakterstück“
Fremde Szene III
Duration: 45′
Dedication: [Fremde Szene I]: Den Freunden vom Stuttgarter Klaviertrio Monika Leonhardt, Rainer Kußmaul, Claus Kanngießer
[Fremde Szene II]: Für Aloys Kontarsky, Saschko Gawriloff und Siegfried Palm
[Fremde Szene III]: ohne Widmung
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Fremde Szenen I-III

World Première

Location: Gelsenkirchen / Germany
Date: 21.11.1984
Main Soloists: Saschko Gawriloff, Vl, Siegfried Palm, Vc, Bruno Canino, Klav

Work Introduction

These three “essays” for piano trio have become classics of new chamber music since their premiere in the early 1980s. Rihm is fully aware of the “strangeness” or “foreignness” of his chamber-music “scenes,” in particular that of the second Trio, which bears the title Charakterstück [“character piece”], reminding listeners of Schumann. The composer warns: “The foreign tongue speaks its very own language, no note is quoted – [the music] falls, plunges into the notes.”

The history of the genre already seems to be apparent in the first Trio behind a veil, typical of Rihm’s gestures – impulsiveness, characteristically obsessive repetitions and pensive, meditative moments. The “character piece” is replete with surprises; the composer is inviting listeners on a surreal journey.

The beginning of the third Trio is fragmentary, languorous, with silences between the fragments; tradition seems to have receded into the background. But it returns after about three minutes, with gestures and paraphrases perhaps more reminiscent of Beethoven and Brahms than Schumann. In the course of the work the music shifts about oddly as Rihm seems to be playing with tradition, steering the music into pathways which surprise and fascinate the listener.

Study score – Fremde Szenen 1-3

  • for piano trio
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE18108
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1662-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01776-6
EUR 64,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.