Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Lowry-Lieder

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm

Year of composition: 1982/1987
Scored for: for voice and orchestra
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Text Source: "Die Einsamkeit der Männer, Mexikanische Sonette"
Text Author: Wolf Wondratschek
Soloists: voice
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Die Nacht beginnt
Im Hass
Im Auge des Adlers
Wer lange einsam war
Die Sonne
Duration: 25′
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Lowry-Lieder

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: München / Germany
Date: 10.01.1988
Orchestra: Bayerisches Staatsorchester
Conductor: Wolfgang Sawallisch
Main Soloists: Gabriele Schnaut, MezzoS

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.