Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Oedipus

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm

Year of composition: 1986-1987
Subtitle: opera in 2 parts
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Text Source: "Oedipus, der Tyrann"
"Oedipus, Reden des letzten Philosophen mit sich selbst. Ein Fragment aus der Geschichte der Nachwelt" (nachgelassenes Fragment)
"Ödipuskommentar" (Müller)
Librettist: Wolfgang Rihm
Translator: Friedrich Hölderlin
Parts: Oedipus, baritone
Kreon, tenor
Tiresias, baritone
Bote, baritone
Hirte, baritone
Jokasta (later "Woman"), mezzo-soprano
Sphinx, 4 sopranos (poss. 2 of them on tape)
16 Älteste, 8 tenors and 8 basses (baritones)
on tape: 4 solo sopranos, female voices, male voices, children, mixed choir, speaking choir, 4 trumpets, 4 trombones
Instrumentation: 1 4 4 4 - 4 4 4 0 - perc(6), hp(2), pno, vln
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
cor anglais(2) (+ob)
clarinet(4) (+1
2thbass cl)
bassoon(4) (+1
perc#sion instruments on the stage
Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag der Deutschen Oper, Berlin.
Duration: 95′
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Oedipus

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Deutsche Oper Berlin Berlin / Germany
Date: 04.10.1987
Conductor: Christof Prick
Scenery: Götz Friedrich
Main Soloists: Andreas Schmidt, Emily Golden, William Pell, William Dooley, Lenus Carlson, William Murray

Libretto – Oedipus

  • Edition type: libretto
  • UE18919
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2236-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07198-0
EUR 9,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

study score - Oedipus

  • Edition type: study score
  • Language: German

study score - Oedipus

  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.