Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Nähe fern 1

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
Nähe fern 1

Year of composition: 2011
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
cor anglais
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
violin I
violin II
Commissioned by: Auftragswerk von Luzerner Sinfonieorchester und LUCERNE FESTIVAL
Duration: 10′
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Nähe fern 1

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Nähe fern 1

World Première

Location: KKL Luzern / Switzerland
Date: 22.06.2011
Orchestra: Luzerner SO
Conductor: James Gaffigan

Work Introduction

After Ernster Gesang (1996) and Das Lesen der Schrift (2001/2002), Rihm again demonstrates his affinity with temporally distant Brahms in Nähe fern 1. The title is from a poem by Goethe which Brahms also set to music; Rihm was motivated to compose it at the suggestion of the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra and the Lucerne Festival, to write four orchestral works, one of which could be played before each of Brahms’ symphonies.

Nähe fern 1 is late Romantic music, the expression of a longing perhaps more associated with Mahler than with Brahms. It is saturated with melodies interrupted by passionate outbursts from the horns, bassoon, cor anglais and strings. Apart from a brief allegretto, the tempo is adagio, constantly kept in flux by ritentuto and più vivo passages. At the same time, Nähe fern 1 is the first movement of a four-part symphony.

study score - Nähe fern 1

Nähe fern 1
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

study score - Nähe fern 1

Nähe fern 1
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

full score - Nähe fern 1

Nähe fern 1
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.