Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Sotto voce

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
Sotto voce

Year of composition: 1999
Subtitle: Notturno
Scored for: for piano and small orchestra
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Soloists: piano
Instrumentation: 2 2 1 1 - 2 0 0 0 - timp, hp, str(max. 10 8 6 6 4)
Instrumentation details:
cor anglais
clarinet in A
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
str(max. 10 8 6 6 4)
Commissioned by: Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester und das Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Duration: 14′
Dedication: dem spielenden und dirigierenden Daniel Barenboim gewidmet
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Sotto voce

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Sotto voce

World Première

Location: Philharmonie Berlin / Germany
Date: 22.05.1999
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester
Conductor: Daniel Barenboim
Main Soloists: Daniel Barenboim, Klav

Work Introduction

When Daniel Barenboim asked me to create a piece for his Mozart-programme I absolutely wanted to extend the idea of employing Daniel Barenboim as soloist to encompass the wonderful pianissimo sound he produces on the piano. I had listened to him several times already and was always captivated by these uniquely played pianissimi. Therefore I wrote a nocturne in which I filled this piano experience with thoughts about the possible or impossible invention of today’s artistic beauty.
Everything is supposed to emerge from within itself as naturally as possible. Nothing more or less. Admittedly, this is also what I try to achieve in other pieces. But this time it became something visibly unprotected - at least that is what I felt when I wrote it - something completely open, also something obvious, which however seemed to make it cryptic at the same time. Was I perhaps on Mozart’s trail? Or did Busoni play the left hand in Zurich and the right in Berlin? Or - ? In any case I spoke in a low voice. With my hand covering my mouth as it were. Sotto voce. Was I scared? Was I not allowed to get 'caught'? Doing what? Art is tough. Once you get involved in it, it does not stop bothering you. It often seems so simple to define what is new. Simple because it shows the exact labelling of its components as 'new'. But what happens when the means themselves seem to be comprehensible but what is said is strange and weird? Then the flags rattle. In this respect each attempt 'bends with the wind'. Even when it doesn’t rage. But be silent, there they start...

Wolfgang Rihm

(Translation: Dorit Luczak)

Study score – Sotto voce - Notturno

  • for piano and small orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE31424
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6245-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06138-7
EUR 39,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.